Australian Marriage Equality (AME) and Australians for Equality (A4E) today welcomed the support of the new NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian for marriage equality.

“We congratulate Gladys Berejiklian on becoming Premier of NSW and thank her for her support for marriage equality and the LGBT community,” Australian Marriage Equality Co-Chair, Alex Greenwich said.

“Premier Berejiklian joins a growing number of Liberal Party leaders who support marriage equality, including Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Tasmanian Premier Will Hodgeman.

“Leaders of all state and territory governments want the federal parliament to act on marriage equality and deliver this straightforward reform.

“This issue unites leaders across the political spectrum from NSW’ Liberal Premier Gladys Berejiklian to the NT Labor Chief Minister Michael Gunner who all understand that this is a straightforward issue of treating all Australians fairly,” Alex Greenwich said.

Co-Chair of Australians for Equality, Anna Brown said, we are committed to working with all levels of government and all political parties to get the legislation right and achieve marriage equality in 2017.

“The strong support from state and territory leaders represents the will of the Australian people who want us to move forward and achieve marriage equality,” Anna Brown said.

The NSW Parliament is home to a multi-partisan working group on marriage equality, who will appear tomorrow at the Senate inquiry into same-sex marriage Bill. 

The Working Group consists of the Hon. Trevor Khan MLC (Nationals), the Hon. Penny Sharpe MLC (Labor), Bruce Notley-Smith MP (Liberal), Alex Greenwich MP (Independent), and Jenny Leong MP (Greens). 

“To achieve marriage equality, all political parties must cross the aisle and work together and the NSW Working Group has been effective in bringing all political persuasions together to achieve equality for all.

“This is about civil marriage and allowing every Australian to have the same opportunities in life.

“Our campaign will continue to call on our parliamentarians to deliver this straightforward reform,” Anna Brown said.

Ms Berejiklian joins the Premiers of Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia, and Victoria and Chief Ministers of the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory in publicly supporting marriage equality.

MEDIA: Clint McGilvray 0413 285 186 or Mike Fairbairn 0448 524 731