Go to Top

How your MP voted – 19 Sep 2012

Scroll down for lists of MPs who voted in favour of marriage equality, those who voted against, and those who didn’t vote.  

In order of electorate, the following MPs voted for marriage equality:

NAME E-MAIL ADDRESS ELECTORATE
Kate Ellis kate.ellis.mp@aph.gov.au Adelaide
Catherine King catherine.king.mp@aph.gov.au Ballarat
Steve Gibbons steve.gibbons.mp@aph.gov.au Bendigo
Jason Clare jason.clare.mp@aph.gov.au Blaxland
Sid Sidebottom sid.sidebottom.mp@aph.gov.au Braddon
Gary Gray gary.gray.mp@aph.gov.au Brand
Alan Griffin alan.griffin.mp@aph.gov.au Bruce
Gai Brodtmann gai.brodtmann.mp@aph.gov.au Canberra
Kirsten Livermore kirsten.livermore.mp@aph.gov.au Capricornia
Greg Combet greg.combet.mp@aph.gov.au Charlton
Darren Cheeseman darren.cheeseman.mp@aph.gov.au Corangamite
Richard Marles richard.marles.mp@aph.gov.au Corio
Sharon Bird sharon.bird.mp@aph.gov.au Cunningham
Andrew Wilkie andrew.wilkie.mp@aph.gov.au Denison
Craig Thomson craig.thomson.mp@aph.gov.au Dobell
Mike Kelly mike.kelly.mp@aph.gov.au Eden Monaro
Julie Collins julie.collins.mp@aph.gov.au Franklin
Melissa Parke mparke.mp@aph.gov.au Fremantle
Nicola Roxon nicola.roxon.mp@aph.gov.au Gellibrand
Anthony Albanese a.albanese.mp@aph.gov.au Grayndler
Steve Georganas steve.georganas.mp@aph.gov.au Hindmarsh
Simon Crean s.crean.mp@aph.gov.au Hotham
Mark Dreyfus mark.dreyfus.mp@aph.gov.au Isaacs
Jenny Macklin jmacklin.mp@aph.gov.au Jagajaga
Peter Garrett peter.garrett.mp@aph.gov.au Kingsford Smith
Amanda Rishworth amanda.rishworth.mp@aph.gov.au Kingston
Laura Smyth laura.smyth.mp@aph.gov.au La Trobe
Warren Snowdon warren.snowdon.mp@aph.gov.au Lingiari
Robert Oakeshott robert.oakeshott.mp@aph.gov.au Lyne
Bill Shorten bill.shorten.mp@aph.gov.au Maribyrnong
Adam Bandt adam.bandt.mp@aph.gov.au Melbourne
Graham Perrett graham.perrett.mp@aph.gov.au Moreton
Sharon Grierson sharon.grierson.mp@aph.gov.au Newcastle
Janelle Saffin janelle.saffin.mp@aph.gov.au Page
Stephen Smith stephen.smith.mp@aph.gov.au Perth
Mark Butler mark.butler.mp@aph.gov.au Port Adelaide
Justine Elliot justine.elliot.mp@aph.gov.au Richmond
Harry Jenkins harry.jenkins.mp@aph.gov.au Scullin
Jill Hall jill.hall.mp@aph.gov.au Shortland
Tanya Plibersek tanya.plibersek.mp@aph.gov.au Sydney
Stephen Jones stephen.jones.mp@aph.gov.au Throsby
Nick Champion nick.champion.mp@aph.gov.au Wakefield

 

In order of electorate, the following MPs voted against marriage equality:

NAME E-MAIL ADDRESS ELECTORATE
Alan Tudge alan.tudge.mp@aph.gov.au Aston
Daryl Melham d.melham.mp@aph.gov.au Banks
Patrick Secker p.secker@aph.gov.au Barker
Robert McClelland r.mcclelland.mp@aph.gov.au Barton
Geoff Lyons geoff.lyons.mp@aph.gov.au Bass
John Alexander john.alexander.mp@aph.gov.au Bennelong
Philip Ruddock philip.ruddock.mp@aph.gov.au Berowra
Shayne Neumann shayne.neumann.mp@aph.gov.au Blair
Ross Vasta ross.vasta.mp@aph.gov.au Bonner
Andrew Southcott andrew.southcott.mp@aph.gov.au Boothby
Andrew Laming andrew.laming.mp@aph.gov.au Bowman
Paul Fletcher paul.fletcher.mp@aph.gov.au Bradfield
Teresa Gambaro teresa.gambaro.mp@aph.gov.au Brisbane
John Cobb john.cobb.mp@aph.gov.au Calare
Maria Vamvakinou maria.vamvakinou.mp@aph.gov.au Calwell
Don Randall don.randall.mp@aph.gov.au Canning
Tony Smith tony.smith.mp@aph.gov.au Casey
Ed Husic ed.husic.mp@aph.gov.au Chifley
Scott Morrison scott.morrison.mp@aph.gov.au Cook
Luke Hartsuyker luke.hartsuyker.mp@aph.gov.au Cowper
Julie Bishop julie.bishop.mp@aph.gov.au Curtin
George Christensen george.christensen.mp@aph.gov.au Dawson
Mike Symon mike.symon.mp@aph.gov.au Deakin
Peter Dutton peter.dutton.mp@aph.gov.au Dickson
Bruce Billson b.billson.mp@aph.gov.au Dunkley
Stuart Robert stuart.robert.mp@aph.gov.au Fadden
Alexander Somlyay alex.somlyay.mp@aph.gov.au Fairfax
Sussan Ley sussan.ley.mp@aph.gov.au Farrer
Greg Hunt greg.hunt.mp@aph.gov.au Flinders
Ken O’Dowd ken.o’dowd.mp@aph.gov.au Flynn
Bert Van Manen bert.vanmanen.mp@aph.gov.au Forde
Nola Marino nola.marino.mp@aph.gov.au Forrest
Chris Hayes chris.hayes.mp@aph.gov.au Fowler
Joanna Gash joanna.gash.mp@aph.gov.au Gilmore
Darren Chester darren.chester.mp@aph.gov.au Gippsland
Andrew Robb andrew.robb.mp@aph.gov.au Goldstein
Michelle Rowland michelle.rowland.mp@aph.gov.au Greenway
Rowan Ramsey rowan.ramsey.mp@aph.gov.au Grey
Kevin Rudd kevin.rudd.mp@aph.gov.au Griffith
Ian Macfarlane ian.macfarlane.mp@aph.gov.au Groom
Ken Wyatt ken.wyatt.mp@aph.gov.au Hasluck
Ewen Jones ewen.jones.mp@aph.gov.au Herbert
Kelly O’Dwyer kelly.o’dwyer.mp@aph.gov.au Higgins
Paul Neville p.neville.mp@aph.gov.au Hinkler
Anthony Byrne anthony.byrne.mp@aph.gov.au Holt
Craig Kelly craig.kelly.mp@aph.gov.au Hughes
Alby Schultz alby.schultz.mp@aph.gov.au Hume
Joel Fitzgibbon j.fitzgibbon.mp@aph.gov.au Hunter
Sophie Mirabella sophie.mirabella.mp@aph.gov.au Indi
Bob Katter bob.katter.mp@aph.gov.au Kennedy
Josh Frydenberg josh.frydenberg.mp@aph.gov.au Kooyong
Julia Gillard http://www.pm.gov.au/contact-your-pm Lalor
Warren Entsch warren.entsch.mp@aph.gov.au Leichhardt
Wayne Swan wayne.swan.mp@aph.gov.au Lilley
David Bradbury david.bradbury.mp@aph.gov.au Lindsay
Wyatt Roy wyatt.roy.mp@aph.gov.au Longman
Dick Adams d.adams.mp@aph.gov.au Lyons
Russell Matheson russell.matheson.mp@aph.gov.au Macarthur
Bronwyn Bishop bronwyn.bishop.mp@aph.gov.au Mackellar
Louise Markus louise.markus.mp@aph.gov.au Macquarie
Tony Zappia tony.zappia.mp@aph.gov.au Makin
John Forrest j.forrest.mp@aph.gov.au Mallee
Bruce Scott bruce.scott.mp@aph.gov.au Maranoa
Jamie Briggs jamie.briggs.mp@aph.gov.au Mayo
Chris Bowen chris.bowen.mp@aph.gov.au McMahon
Russell Broadbent russell.broadbent.mp@aph.gov.au McMillan
Karen Andrews karen.andrews.mp@aph.gov.au McPherson
Kevin Andrews kevin.andrews.mp@aph.gov.au Menzies
Alex Hawke alex.hawke.mp@aph.gov.au Mitchell
Steven Ciobo steven.ciobo.mp@aph.gov.au Moncrieff
Mal Washer mal.washer.mp@aph.gov.au Moore
Sharman Stone s.stone.mp@aph.gov.au Murray
Tony Windsor tony.windsor.mp@aph.gov.au New England
Joe Hockey j.hockey.mp@aph.gov.au North Sydney
Tony Crook tony.crook.mp@aph.gov.au O’Connor
Bernie Ripoll bernie.ripoll.mp@aph.gov.au Oxley
Mark Coulton mark.coulton.mp@aph.gov.au Parkes
Julie Owens julie.owens.mp@aph.gov.au Parramatta
Bob Baldwin bob.baldwin.mp@aph.gov.au Paterson
Judi Moylan j.moylan.mp@aph.gov.au Pearce
Yvette D’Ath yvette.d’ath.mp@aph.gov.au Petrie
Craig Emerson craig.emerson.mp@aph.gov.au Rankin
John Murphy john.murphy.mp@aph.gov.au Reid
Michael McCormack michael.mccormack.mp@aph.gov.au Riverina
Deborah O’Neill deborah.o’neill.mp@aph.gov.au Robertson
Jane Prentice jane.prentice.mp@aph.gov.au Ryan
Natasha Griggs natasha.griggs.mp@aph.gov.au Solomon
Michael Keenan michael.keenan.mp@aph.gov.au Stirling
Christopher Pyne c.pyne.mp@aph.gov.au Sturt
Steve Irons steve.irons.mp@aph.gov.au Swan
Dennis Jensen dennis.jensen.mp@aph.gov.au Tangney
Dan Tehan dan.tehan.mp@aph.gov.au Wannon
Tony Abbott tony.abbott.mp@aph.gov.au Warringah
Tony Burke tony.burke.mp@aph.gov.au Watson
Malcolm Turnbull malcolm.turnbull.mp@aph.gov.au Wentworth
Warren Truss w.truss.mp@aph.gov.au Wide Bay
Kelvin Thomson kelvin.thomson.mp@aph.gov.au Wills
Scott Buchholz scott.buchholz.mp@aph.gov.au Wright

 

In order of electorate, the following MPs were absent during the vote:

NAME E-MAIL ADDRESS ELECTORATE
Martin Ferguson martin.ferguson.mp@aph.gov.au Batman
Anna Burke anna.burke.mp@aph.gov.au Chisholm
Luke Simpkins luke.simpkins.mp@aph.gov.au Cowan
Barry Haase barry.haase.mp@aph.gov.au Durack
Peter Slipper peter.slipper.mp@aph.gov.au Fisher
Andrew Leigh andrew.leigh.mp@aph.gov.au Fraser
Brendan O’Connor brendan.o’connor.mp@aph.gov.au Gorton
Rob Mitchell rob.mitchell.mp@aph.gov.au McEwen
Michael Danby michael.danby.mp@aph.gov.au Melbourne Ports
Laurie Ferguson laurie.ferguson.mp@aph.gov.au Werriwa